Sunday, July 15, 2007

Liverato Wins, Sets Record at Glen National

Story by Bill Bell from the SCCA News page.

Jean-Luc Liverato, of Alpharetta, Ga., was third overall and first in DSR driving a Stohr WF1. Liverato also set a new DSR record at The Glen, turning a 1:51.311. William Goldkind, of Holbrook, N.Y., took the CSR win in a Viking and David Dullum, of Falls Church, Va., was the S2000 victor in a Lola.

WATKINS GLEN, N.Y. (July 17, 2007) – The 59th running of the Glen Nationals, dating back to the original street races in 1949, attracted 320 competitors to the 2007 edition, presented by the Finger Lakes Region Sports Car Club of America. Some of the best national drivers, from Maine to Florida and parts of the Midwest, came to test their skills at one of the most famous and historic road courses in the United States.

Saturday was devoted to practice and qualifying sessions for each of the seven race groups. Following practice and qualifying, an open Town Hall meeting was held with SCCA President Jim Julow and local directors Brian Holtz and John Sheridan, and the evening concluded with a picnic supper for all participants.

Race Three was composed of Formula Atlantic, D Sport Racing, C Sports Racing, F 1000 (FB), Formula Continental, S2000, and Formula Mazda. The start was delayed by two extra pace laps due to slippery course conditions. On Lap Five, a full-course yellow was called for four laps, and green flag racing resumed on Lap Nine. At the finish, it was two Formula Atlantics in first and second position; Paul Lecain, of Dandown, N.H, driving a Ralt Toyota in front, followed by Ahsen Yelkin, of Austintown, Ohio. Polesitter and third in FA, Hans Peter, of Overland Park, Kan., set a new FA track record of 1:45.074, after being held in the pits and starting the race from dead last.

Jeremy Hill, of Toronto, Ont., won FB in a Photon VD, setting an FB track record of 1:54.621 in the process. In FM, it was Jeremy Grenier, of Point of Rocks, Md., and FC was won by Mauro Fauza, of Auburn Hills, Mich., in a Van Diemen. Justin Hoffman, of Herndon, Va., took the FE victory in a Van Diemen and set a lap record of 1:59.171.

Forty-three Spec Racer Fords took the green at the start of Race Two. Lee Hill was the early leader followed by Mark Eaton. Hill took over the point on Lap six, but one lap later, Herb Sweeney, Jr., took the lead with Hill now back in fourth position. Lap nine saw a new leader, Mick Robinson, followed by Derek Defonce and Eaton. This held through four laps of full-course yellow. At the finish, it was Eaton, of Eau Gallie, Fla., Defonce, of New Preston, Conn., and Robinson, of Melbourne, Fla.

[ Sports Racer forum discussion on this race ]