Sunday, June 24, 2007

Peter, Liverato, & Wolf Claim Sprints

Story by SCCA Staff writers from the SCCA News page.
Photo by Robert Bowe.

Defending Triple Crown® winner Hans Peter, of Overland Park, Kansas, took a dominating win in C Sports Racing and overall at the 52nd Annual Chicago Region SCCA June Sprints, after early overall and DSR leader J.R. Osborne, of Centennial, Colorado, was sidelined with mechanical problems. Peter is well on his way to a second-straight Triple Crown, currently holding a substantial lead in his Divisional point race in addition to the Sprints win.

When Osborn retired, it gave the D Sports Racing class lead to Jean-Luc Liverato, of Alpharetta, Ga. Liverato held off Dorian Foyil to take the DSR win, second overall, in his Stohr WF1.

Local driver Bart Wolf, of Elkhart Lake, Wis., dogged defending Triple Crown winner Mark Mercer for much of the race before Mercer pulled off with a mechanical problem with two laps remaining, giving the Sports 2000 class win to Wolf.

ELKHART LAKE, Wis. – Top five race results from Sunday’s final six races at the Piggly Wiggly 52nd Annual Chicago Region SCCA June Sprints at Road America with finishing position, starting position in parenthesis, driver, hometown, car and laps complete. Race course is 4.0 miles in length.

C Sports Racing
1, (1), Hans Peter, Overland Park, Kan., Swift Viking, 13.
2, (3), Matt Downs, North Mankato, Minn., Elan L1, 13.
3, (4), Jeff Miller, Elkhart Lake, Wis., WynnFurst, 13.
4, (8), Ken Davis, Escondido, Calif., Ralt RT-40 Viking, 13.
5, (6), William Goldkind, Holbrook, N.Y., Viking Toyota, 13.
Time of Race: 28 minutes, 3.426 seconds.
Margin of Victory: 54.816 seconds
Fastest Race Lap: Hans Peter, 2:06.177 (114.125 mph)

D Sports Racing
1, (2), Jean-Luc Liverato, Alpharetta, Ga., Stohr WF1, 13.
2, (4), Dorian Foyil, Nassau, Bahamas, Stohr WF1, 13.
3, (3), Chris Farrell, Salt Lake City, Utah, Stohr WF1, 13.
4, (5), Michael Reupert, Hubertus, Wis., Lola AMW, 13.
5, (7), Tim Micklos, Salt Lake City, Utah, Stohr WF1, 13.
Time of Race: 28 minutes, 25.992 seconds
Margin of Victory: 1.487 seconds
Fastest Race Lap: J.R. Osborn, 2:08.524 (112.041 mph), Record

Sports 2000
1, (2), Bart Wolf, Elkhart Lake, Wis., Carbir, 12.
2, (5), Michael Bautz, Mach. Park, Ill., Lola, 12.
3, (4), David Ferguson, Sunnyvale, Calif., Van Diemen, 12.
4, (6), Tony Sleath, Dearborn, Mich., Carbir, 12.
5, (10), Nick Mancuso, Lake Bluff, Ill., Lola, 12.
Time of Race: 28 minutes, 25.418 seconds
Margin of Victory: 11.183 seconds
Fastest Race Lap: Mark Mercer, 2:19.110 (103.515 mph)

Spec Racer Ford
1, (4), Brian Schofield, Lakeland, Fla., Spec Racer Ford, 13.
2, (3), Lee Fleming, Lake Forest, Calif., Spec Racer Ford, 13.
3, (6), Mike Miserendino, Los Angeles, Calif., Spec Racer Ford, 13.
4, (1), Jeff Beck, Ingleside, Ill., Spec Racer Ford, 13.
5, (8), Cliff White, Vail, Colo., Spec Racer Ford, 13.
Time of Race: 35 minutes, 6.543 seconds
Margin of Victory: 0.403-second
Fastest Race Lap: Jay Green, 2:39.773 (90.128 mph)

[ Race results on MyLaps ]

[ Sports Racer forum discussion on this race. ]