Monday, September 25, 2006

Preview of the SCCA Runoffs®

73 drivers are entered in sports racers at the upcoming Sports Car Club of America's National Runoffs®. The entry list includes 19 drivers in CSR, 36 drivers in DSR, and 18 drivers in the S2000 class. Practice for the 43rd annual amateur championships begins on Monday, October 9, at Heartland Park Topeka, Kansas. Final races will be Friday-Sunday, October 13-15.

The 19 CSR entries will range from a Mazda rotary engined 1980 March of Michael Vellone (Mesa, AZ), to 2006 models including the Panoz Elan dp02 of Kerry Jacobsen (Deland, FL) and the Kawasaki motorcycle engined Stohr WF1-BPS of Mark Jaremko (Spokane, WA). Other marques in the field will include Beasley, Lola, Radical, Ralt, Swift, Van Dieman SRSCCA, Viking, and Wynnfurst.

After dominating the 2005
Runoffs® with the debut of the Stohr WF1, Mark Jaremko returns to defend his DSR title along with 9 other WF1 owners who think that's the car to have. 7 drivers with either a West or first generation Stohr chassis fill out the remaining half of the field which will be in a Lee Stohr designs. 4 Omni Fab Cheetahs and 2 Speads RS chassis are the only other marque that will be represented by more than a single entry. The remaining 36 DSR entries care made up of A-Mac, BNCU, Bobsy, Dragon, Gloria, Hentech, Lola, Maloy, Mystery, OMS, Swift, Van Diemen SSR, and Zephrus.

The 18 S2000 entries are made up of Carbir, Lola, Shannon, and Swift.

The early entry deadline cutoff for this year’s SCCA National Championship Runoffs® was Friday night, Sept. 8. Entries received after 11:59 p.m. (CDT) on Friday night will be assessed the $500 late entry fee in addition to the base fee of $300.

CSR Entry list

DSR Entry List

S2000 Entry List