Wednesday, November 16, 2005

Pacific Nationals Series Announced

A collection of industry sponsors are offering some encouragement for C & D Sports Racers to attend key National races on the West Coast in 2006. The Pacific Sports Car Series will include five SCCA National events from Phoenix, Arizona to Portland, Oregon, covering seven races in the Southern and Northern Pacific Divisions. For each class, trophies will be given to the top 3 finishers at the first race of each event, and there will be a traveling Championship Trophy for each class.

Tow Fund
Tow money will be paid to increase the car count at each event, by assisting out of area drivers suppliment their travel costs. The tow fund will pay $200 to competitiors who tow more than 200 miles from the location where the vehicle is normally stored. The tow fund will be $300 if the distance is greater than 300 miles.

Tentative 2006 Schedule
January 12-15 > Phoenix Double National
March > Thunderhill Double National
April > Buttonwillow National
June 9-11 > Portland Rose Cup National
August > Laguna Seca National

The Series is structured to keep administrative issues to an absolute minimum. Therefore, as many rules as possible will be deferred to the SCCA Club Racing General Regulations (GCR) and Supplemental Regulations for the races.

The Series consists of a set of specially designated SCCA Club races, determined at the start of the calendar year. Points earned at each race are applied to the Pacific Sports Racer Series Championship. The SCCA points system will be used (GCR 16.2.3). Twelve points will be awarded for first place, 9 for second place, 7 for third place, continuing to 1 point for ninth place.

Loynimgs Race Engines
Veracity Racing Data
The Shock Shop
Phoenix Race Cars
Stohr Cars
Racing Concepts
Longbloed Racing Wheels

For further details on the program, email the Series Administrator
or check the Pacific Sports Car Series web site.

Read forum discussion on this topic.